Home » Formula E: all the news of the new 2022 season

Formula E: all the news of the new 2022 season

by admin

Season eight of the ABB Fia Formula E Championship is now ready to go. Sixteen races scheduled in twelve locations around the world with numerous double appointments per weekend. Important news also in the qualifying format which includes group sessions and direct elimination.

New rules for qualifications

After the victory of the drivers ‘and constructors’ titles at the French brand Ds Techeetah, we are back to talking about Formula E and racing. Jaguar and Mahindra confirming their presence and already presenting the car but now it’s time to talk about regulations as well.
The new format allows the best teams and drivers to show their skills and their skill, but also gives the opportunity for anyone to emerge by making a fast lap so as to reach the top positions of the starting grid.
The qualifications foresee the formation of two initial groups composed of 11 drivers, ordered according to their position in the drivers’ classification of the world championship, who compete, in a 10-minute session per group, using a power of 220 kW, to obtain the best lap time. The four fastest drivers in each group move on to the next round which involves a two-person challenge. The eight drivers will then face off from the quarterfinals to the final, by direct elimination, competing against each other, head to head, with a power of 250 kW.
The driver who wins the final duel wins the Julius Baer Pole Position, his challenger will start from the second position. The semifinalists will line up in third and fourth position, while the remaining quarterfinal participants will line up from fifth to eighth, based on lap times.

See also  This is the world's most expensive painting ever sold

How the remaining grid is filled

Drivers who finished fifth to twelfth in the poleman’s group will fill the odd positions on the grid. The corresponding drivers of the other group will be classified in the even slots of the grid. So, if the poleman is from Group 1, the fifth-placed driver in Group 1 will line up ninth on the starting grid and the fifth-ranked driver in Group 2 will take 10th place and so on.

More power and race time

As decided in the July conference of the World Motor Sport Council (Wmsc), the Gen2 single-seaters in season 8 will have up to 220 kW of power available during the race, 20 kW more than last season. In addition, the power during the “attack mode” will also increase, going from 235 to 250 kW of power.
Now standard Formula E races, of 45 minutes plus one lap, can have extra race time, up to a maximum of ten minutes, which is added when accidents require the intervention of the Safety Car or the Full Course regime Yellow.

Calendar: sixteen races are scheduled

A calendar of sixteen races in twelve locations with new goals confirmed, including Jakarta, Vancouver and Seoul.
Below is the updated calendar which, according to the organizers, may still undergo changes during the season.
28-29/01 Diriyah, Saudi Arabia – 12/02 Mexico City, Mexico – 09-10/04 Roma, Italy

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy