Home Sports Tim Gajser is world champion. Championship standings of the Finnish GP

Tim Gajser is world champion. Championship standings of the Finnish GP

by admin
Tim Gajser is world champion.  Championship standings of the Finnish GP

The Slovenian of Honda, managed by a handful of GPs, completes the work by mathematically closing the MXGP games. Motocross world wide open in MX2 with Geerts (Yamaha) who wins Race 1 and then falls twice in Race 2. Coldenhoff and Vialle win in Finland

Matteo Solinghi


He had to manage and managed: Tim Gajser, Slovenian born in 1996, already 4 times World Motocross champion, wins his 5th world title at the Finnish Grand Prix. The fourth in the MXGP premier class, the confirmation that the Slovenian is a solid, constant, talented, fast and extremely intelligent rider. A first part of the championship to attack, to build a substantial advantage, thanks to the absences of Jeffrey Herlings and Romain Febvre, and a second half in management. He rightly applied the same method also in Finland, aware of the fact that 35 points would have been enough to take home the fifth world title, after the one that ended in 2021. “Winning a World Cup means doing something important, winning five is fantastic”, comments Gajser shortly after Race 2. “I was nervous before this race, but everything went well”, concludes the Honda Hrc rider, sixth on the day with the all-Yamaha podium (Coldenhoff-Seewer-Renaux). Five titles like Roger De Coster, Joel Smets, Eric Geboers, Georges Jobe and Jeffrey Herlings: the Olympus of the Motocross World Championship.

MXGP: Yamaha podium, Gajser title

First victory of the season for Glenn Coldenhoff: the Yamaha rider is at ease in the sand of Finland and with the victory of the second heat and the 2nd place in Race 1 he takes home the GP. Historic all-Yamaha podium, with Jeremy Seewer and Maxime Renaux both at 40 points and respectively in second and third position. Despite the HRC party for Gajser’s World Cup victory, now given for sure, a day to be framed for the house of the Tre Diapason. Nearly missed podium for Brian Bogers (Husqvarna), winner of the first heat and disappointing in the second, also thanks to a crash. In total management Tim Gajser (Honda), very careful not to make mistakes, not to make mistakes, with a pace much lower than his potential. Even more cautious than in the latest releases, but to bring the World Cup home you need to know how to do this too. Excellent top ten for Alberto Forato (9th with the Gas Gas 450), while Mattia Guadagnini (Gas Gas) is only 15th. Weekend of ups and downs for Romain Febvre: the Kawasaki rider, who started from pole position, then ran into a series of errors and crashes that relegated him to the seventh position of the day.

See also  Spiga d'Oro, in Vigevano winning point of Gherardi Merli king of the time trial

MX2: how many emotions!

Sunday with strong emotions in MX2, with Tom Vialle (Ktm) winning the Finnish Grand Prix thanks to 2nd place in Race 1 behind Jago Geerts (Yamaha) and the victory in the second heat. If the first half hour of the race is a solo by the current leader of the drivers’ classification, the second heat is a swing of emotions for everyone. On a track now destroyed and marked by the canals, there are many twists: first of all the one starring Geerts, who loses the front when exiting the corners and overturns, getting stuck under the bike after conquering the holeshot. The Belgian starts last and tries a furious comeback. At the same time Vialle becomes the leader of the heats, overtaking an excellent Liam Everts (Ktm), the one who will take the place of the Frenchman in 2023 on the official 250 Sx-F. The second twist is by Vialle, who makes a small mistake and leaves the way open to Roan Van de Moosdjik (Husqvarna). The Dutchman, during the penultimate lap, falls and returns the favor to Vialle, with the latter having to defend himself with a knife between his teeth from the attacks of Kay de Wolf (Husqvarna), sand specialist. In the end Geerts is 7th in Race 2, but without the second crash, in an attempt to overtake Mikkel Haarup (Kawasaki), he would have managed to snatch a few more points. Vialle, de Wolf and Geerts are therefore on the podium. The Belgian remains the leader of the World Cup, but the gap has now narrowed to 15 points. Vialle has the obligation to win in Saint Jean d’Angely and in Turkey, Geerts can afford three seconds and a third place. But how many regrets for the Belgian, who has thrown away a mentally won race.

See also  The poker of surprise Robbio "The result of our work"

Motocross World Championship 2022, GP of Finland: the rankings

Motocross World Championship 2022, GP of Finland: MXGP day ranking

  1. Glenn Coldenhoff (Ola-Yamaha) 47 punti
  2. Jeremy Seewer (All-Yamaha) 40
  3. Maxime Renaux (Fra-Yamaha) 40
  4. Brian Bogers (Ola-Husqvarna) 40
  5. Brent Vandonnick (Bel-Yamaha) 32
  6. Tim Gajser (Slo-Honda) 29
  7. Romain Febvre (Fra-Kawasaki) 29
  8. Calvin Flanders (Ola-Yamaha) 26
  9. Alberto Forato (Ita-Gas Gas) 23
  10. Henry Jacobi (Ger-Honda) 21

Motocross World Championship 2022, GP of Finland: MXGP championship standings

  1. Tim Gajser (Slo-Honda) 674 points
  2. Jeremy Seewer (All-Yamaha) 570
  3. Glenn Coldenhoff (Ola-Yamaha) 525
  4. Jorge Prado (Spa-Gas Gas) 517
  5. Maxime Renaux (Fra-Yamaha) 506
  6. Brian Bogers (Ola-Husqvarna) 391
  7. Ruben Fernandez (Spa-Honda) 359
  8. Calvin Flanders (Ola-Yamaha) 352
  9. Pauls Jonass (Let-Husqvarna) 325
  10. Mitch Evans (Aus-Honda) 272

Motocross World Championship 2022, GP of Finland: MX2 day classification

  1. Tom Vialle (Fra-Ktm) 47 points
  2. Kay de Wolf (Ola-Husqvarna) 42
  3. Iago Geerts (Bel-Yamaha) 39
  4. Roan Van de Moosdjik (Husqvarna) 38
  5. Liam Everts (Bel-Ktm) 32
  6. Kevin Horgmo (Nor-Kawasaki) 30
  7. Thibault Benistant (Fra-Yamaha) 29
  8. Simon Laengenfelder (Ger-Gas Gas) 28
  9. Mikkel Haarup (Dan-Kawasaki) 23
  10. Tom Guyon (Fra-Ktm) 20

Motocross World Championship 2022, GP of Finland: MX2 championship standings

  1. Jago Geerts (Bel-Yamaha) 676 punti
  2. Tom Vialle (Fra-Ktm) 661
  3. Simon Laengenfelder (Ger-Gas Gas) 535
  4. Kevin Horgmo (Nor-Kawasaki) 476
  5. Thibault Benistant (Fra-Yamaha) 434
  6. Mikkel Haarup (Dan-Kawasaki) 410
  7. Kay de Wolf (Ola-Husqvarna) 390
  8. Andrea Adamo (Ita-Gas Gas) 383
  9. Stephen Rubini (Fra-Honda) 358
  10. Liam Everts (Bel-Ktm) 257.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy