Home » Tour de France: Bilbao dedicates stage win to teammate who died in an accident

Tour de France: Bilbao dedicates stage win to teammate who died in an accident

by admin
Tour de France: Bilbao dedicates stage win to teammate who died in an accident

Sports Tour de France

Bilbao dedicates the stage win to a teammate who died in an accident

As of: 6:20 p.m. | Reading time: 4 minutes

The Spaniard Pello Bilbao from Team Bahrain Victorious with the tribute to Gino Mäder on his helmet


After the first day of rest in the Tour de France, the riders struggled through the biting heat in the Massif Central. The German driver Georg Zimmermann defies the conditions and narrowly misses the day’s victory. Triumphator Bilbao commemorates Gino Mäder, who died in an accident.

After crossing the finish line, Georg Zimmermann entered the team bus disappointed and couldn’t really be happy about his second place. During a heat battle in the French Massif Central, the German professional cyclist from the Belgian team Intermarché Circus Wanty narrowly missed out on winning the day on the tenth stage of the Tour de France. “The disappointment of having missed the biggest goal of my career is currently greater than the joy of second place,” said Zimmermann.

On the 167.2-kilometer stretch between the Vulcania volcano theme park and Issoire, the 25-year-old from Augsburg was only beaten by the Spaniard Pello Bilbao in a breakaway sprint on Tuesday. With temperatures of up to 43 degrees and a bumpy route with more than 3000 meters of altitude difference, the Australian Ben O’Connor took third place.

“I stepped in a corridor that was too thick, that might have been a mistake,” complained Zimmermann, standing in front of the bus in sandals, sweaty. “I knew Bilbao was fast, I lost a sprint against them in Stuttgart before,” he added. The heat-resistant Bavarian launched an attack just under a kilometer from the finish, but was overtaken by Bilbao.

Best placement for Zimmermann at the Tour de France

Winner Bilbao praised the German’s attack. “I waited for the right moment until everyone was at their limit,” explained the 33-year-old from Team Bahrain-Victorious. He dedicated his success to his former teammate Gino Mäder, who recently died after a serious fall at the Tour de Suisse.

See also  The disenchantment of the Slovak star: Heat, dehydration and the leader in the hospital

also read

He had a red sticker on his helmet that read “#rideforGino”. When Bilbao crossed the finish line, he took off his helmet and pointed to the sticker.

Meanwhile, Zimmermann, who is taking part in the Tour of France for the third time, celebrated his best-ever tour placement after his sensational stage win at the Critérium du Dauphiné in early June. In 2022 he was also sixth on the tenth stage.

Here you will find content from Twitter

In order to display embedded content, your revocable consent to the transmission and processing of personal data is required, since the providers of the embedded content as third-party providers require this consent [In diesem Zusammenhang können auch Nutzungsprofile (u.a. auf Basis von Cookie-IDs) gebildet und angereichert werden, auch außerhalb des EWR]. By setting the switch to “on”, you agree to this (which can be revoked at any time). This also includes your consent to the transfer of certain personal data to third countries, including the USA, in accordance with Art. 49 (1) (a) GDPR. You can find more information about this. You can withdraw your consent at any time via the switch and via privacy at the bottom of the page.

The Dane Jonas Vingegaard did not lose any time in the overall standings. Last year’s winner had lost eight seconds to Tadej Pogacar in the previous stage. The advantage over the tenth stage was only 17 seconds. Bora captain Jai Hindley remained third behind Vingegaard with 2:40 minutes, the German champion Emanuel Buchmann is still 13th in the overall ranking.

See also  Tour de France, the Gazzetta report cards: the cheering of the Danish people is 10 and praise. Caruso 5.5: must be more careful in the finals

After the ascent to the legendary Puy de Dôme volcano on Sunday and the first day of rest, the professional cyclists remained loyal to the Feuerberge. On the bumpy track, the top drivers Vingegaard and Pogacar didn’t take a breather from the start and after a few kilometers they were chasing a breakaway group.

The peloton later splintered into several small groups. Zimmermann attacked 131 kilometers from the finish and joined a seven-man lead group. Despite the biting heat, he still seemed fresh and powerful over the last few kilometers, but the exhausting day gnawed at him at the finish line. Severe weather had been feared before the race, but this did not start until the end of the stage. Fire engines drove across the track instead, refreshing the fans with water.

On Wednesday, the sprinters should have a good chance on the eleventh stage. After a hilly start on the 179.8 kilometers between Clermont-Ferrand and Moulins, it becomes much flatter towards the finish. Phil Bauhaus, after his second place in stage three and third place a day later, will launch his next attack on a stage win.

10th stage Vulcania/France – Issoire/France (167.20 km)

1. Pello Bilbao (Spain) – Bahrain Victorious 3:52:34; 2. Georg Zimmermann (Neusäß) – Intermarché-Circus-Wanty + 0 sec.; 3. Ben O’Connor (Australia) – AG2R Citroën Team; 4. Krists Neilands (Latvia) – Israel Premier Tech; 5. Esteban Chaves (Colombia) – EF Education-EasyPost; 6. Antonio Pedrero (Spain) – Movistar Team +3; 7. Mattias Skjelmose Jensen (Denmark) – Lidl Trek +27; 8. Michal Kwiatkowski (Poland) – Ineos Grenadiers; 9. Warren Barguil (France) – Team Arkea-Samsic +30; 10. Julian Alaphilippe (France) – Soudal Quick-Step + 32.

See also  Tour de France: Zimmermann is very close to the big career goal

Overall ranking of the Tour de France

1. Jonas Vingegaard Rasmussen (Denmark) – Jumbo-Visma 42:33:13 hrs; 2. Tadej Pogacar (Slovenia) – UAE Team Emirates +17s; 3. Jai Hindley (Australia) – Bora-hansgrohe + 2:40 min.; 4. Carlos Rodriguez Cano (Spain) – Ineos Grenadiers +4:22; 5. Pello Bilbao (Spain) – Bahrain Victorious +4:34; 6. Adam Yates (Great Britain) – UAE Team Emirates +4:39; 7. Simon Yates (Great Britain) – Team Jayco AlUla +4:44; 8. Thomas Pidcock (Britain) – Ineos Grenadiers +5:26; 9. David Gaudu (France) – Groupama-FDJ + 6:01; 10. Sepp Kuss (USA) – Jumbo Visma + 6:45.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy